Taiwan Province, known as Tai for short, is situated at China's southeast sea, facing the Pacific to the east and Fujian Province to the West across the Straits. Covering a total area of 36000 square kilometers, it is the largest island in China and has a population of more than 20 million. The general topography is high in the east and low in the west. The general landform is extremely complicated, of which the mountains area occupies two-thirds of the territory of the province. Yushan (Jade Mountain) in the center of Taiwan is the highest mountain in southeast China with an elevation of 3952 meters above sea level. A beautiful and fertile land, Taiwan is extremely rich in plants. Its main crops include "Three Treasures of Taiwan" –paddy, sugar cane and tea, as well as banana, pineapple, longan, litchi, papaya, olive, and others
Taiwan has been part of territory of China since ancient times. It was called "Daoyi" in Chinese ancient books, and "Yizhou" before the Sui Dynasty. From Sui to Yuan dynasties, it had a name of "Liuqiu". During the Emperor Wanli's region of the Ming dynasty, it got its present name of "Taiwan". Under the jurisdiction of Taiwan Prefecture in 1684 during the Qing dynasty, Taiwan became a province in 1885 of the same dynasty. In 1895, Taiwan is occupied by Japan. After the winning of the War of Resistance Against Japan in 1945, Taiwan returned back to China.

Major cities in Taiwan are Taipei, Tainan, a famous historical city, Kaohsiung, an industrial harbor city and Taichung. Surrounded by sea, Taiwan's weather is agreeable and is as beautiful as a painting with bountiful tourist resources. There are such significant places of historic interest and scenic beauty as Taiwan Palace Museum, Sun and Moon Pool, Ali Mountain and Yangming Mountain scenic spots, Mazu Temple, and Beitou Hot Springs.