Lu is abbreviation for Shandong, a province in the lower reaches of the Yellow River. The present name comes from its located east to Taihang Mountain. During the Spring and Autumn and Warring States periods, most part of Shandong belonged to the states of Qi and Lu, so it also called Qilu by later people. Over 150000 square kilometers in area, Shandong has a population of more than 90 million people including Hans, Huis, Manchurians, Mangolians, Zhuangs and other ethnic people. Jinan is the provincial capital.
Shandong was one of the birth-places of the glorious culture of ancient China. Early in the Primitive Society, people lived there and created the famous Dawenkou and Longshan cultures about 4000 years ago. It was also the homeland of Confucius and Mencius, two celebrated thinkers of ancient China
The province abounds in tourist resources. Mount Taishan, and Temple, Mansion and Cemetery of Confucius are all on the UNESCO's World Heritage List.
Qingdao, Yantai, Penglai, Weihai are famous seaside resorts. Other scenic spots and historical and cultural sites include Daming Lake and Thousand-Buddha Mountain in Jinan, Plank Pathway and Mount Laoshan in Qingdao, Penglai Pavilion of Penglai City, Kite Museum of Weifang, ruins of ancient city of Qi State and former residence of Pu Songling, author of The Strange Stories from a Lonely Studio, and Mencius Masion in Zuocheng City.
Temple, Mansion and Cemetery of Confucius in Qufu
Located in Qufu, one of the national famous historical and cultural cities and hometown of Confucius, the Confucius Temple, Mansions and Graveyard were inscribed on the World Heitage List by the UNESCO in 1994. First built in 478 BC in memory of the great philosopher and founder of Confucianism, Confucius Temple covers an area of 22 hectares and has 466 rooms, making it the largest of its kind in China. Among the principal structures in the temple are Dachengdian (Hall of Great Achievements), Apricot Rostrum Pavilion, Kuiwen pavilion, Shengjidian (Hill of Holy Remains), and so on. Dacheng Hall, having a total of 1836 square meters, is one of the Three Grand Halls in China. Shengjidain houses a series of engraved stones, telling stories of the philosopher. To the east of the Confucius Temple, the aristocratic Confucius Mansion used to be the residence of descendants of Confucius—the Kongs. Containing 463 buildings, the complex is one of the largest and finest of its kind in China, the Confucius Cemetery is the largest and oldest family cemetery in the country, and covers about 200 hectares.
Located at the central part of Shandong Province and lying across Taian and Jinan, Mount Taishan, the East Sacred Mountain, was called Daizong or Daishan in ancient times. Covering an area of 125 square kilometers and with a height of 1545 meters, it is famous for its intense grandeur and beautiful natural scenery, and also has a reputation of "a Natural Museum of Historical and Art" for its countless cultural features of the mountain are enjoying cloud-sea and sun rising. As the royal object of cult, Mount Taishan was the venue where past emperors of various dynasties used to worship Heaven and Earth, and was thought to be the most famed among the Five Sacred Mountains in China. In 1987, it became a world heritage site of culture and nature. Atop the mountain are more than 60 main scenic spots including the Dai Temple, Mid-Heaven Gate, South-Heaven Gate, Bixia Temple, Jade Emperor Summit, and Five-Dafu Pines.
Qingdao is a well-known seaside resort and a famous historical and cultural city. Located on the Jiaodong Peninsula and by the Bay of Jiaozhou, the city is surrounded by the sea on three sides and enjoys a congenial climate. The basic features of Qingdao as a tourist attraction are that with the sea as the main theme. The mountains and the city form a picture of natural scenery against the background of history and culture in modern times. Among the major scenic spots and historical monuments are Zhanqiao (Plank Pathway), Lesser Qingdao, Xiaoyushan park, Eight Major Passes, Laoshan Mountain Scenic Area and Shilaoren National Holiday Holiday Resort.
Sitting on summit of Danya Mountian and 1 kilometer north of the city of same name, the magnificent Penglai Pavilion was first built in 1061. Legend has it that Emperor Qin Shihuang and Emperor Wu of the Han Dynasty once sought for the elixir of life here. The famous legend of "Eight Immortals Crossing the Sea" finds its origin here. It is a vast group of ancient buildings on a land of 32800 square meters, composed of the six buildings and their attached constructions: penglai Pavilion, Tianhou and Longwu Palaces, Luzu and Sanqing halls and Mituo Tempel. Attractively on display in these buildings are works of calligraphy of famous literary writers, couplet hung on the columns and stone inscriptions.