Mansion of Prince Gong

Prince Gong Mansion
Tsuijin garden, also known as Prince Gong Mansion, built in 1777, was originally given by Qing Emperor Qianlong to the famous official Heshen as his private residence. In Emperor Jiaqing's period (1799), Heshen was sentenced to death because of his crime, and the mention was diverted for IP. In Emperor Xianfeng's reign (1851), it was given to Prince Gong - Xin Yi, and since then it became the Prince Gong's Mansion and has maintained well till today.  Gong ordered to mobilized over 100 skillful artists and craftsmen to have the garden rebuilt, in the pattern of a combination of Jiangnan (south China) garden and Northern garden, the Western classical architecture and traditional Chinese gardening style. The landscape architecture, installation of rocks and trees, all mark its high level as the Chinese biggest quadrangle and gar den-like mansion.

The whole park runs about 150 meters from north to south, 170 meters wide from east to west, covering an area of 28,000 square meters; it contains 31 ancient buildings with an area of 2800 square meters. It's divided into three sections.

Palace of the Qing Dynasty have strict regulations, the whole prince mansion should have five doors, and the whole complex is composed of 7 main halls,5 rear chambers, and other annex chambers, thus formed the courtyards in between. Many sites have the garden. However, many of the palaces are already beyond recognition, only the existing Beijing Prince Gong House is the most complete with finest layout Qing Dynasty Palace. Mr. Hou Renzhi, a well-known scholar describes it as "a Prince Gong House, half of the history of the Qing Dynasty".

The site is divided into the central, the east, the west, and runs through the courtyard formed. In the front of the five main entrances, each with a pair of stone lions standing, this is particular style. As the main entrance of the mansion, the white marble gate takes a western style. Behind the entry is a five-meter-high Taihu Rock, serving as the natural scene. The famous "Character of happiness Tablet" is right here with a huge character of "Fu" which means "happiness" on in the calligraphy of Emperor Qianlong. As the saying goes, a touch of "Fu" might bring you good luck throughout the whole life. Behind is the reception hall where Prince Gong received his guests; the end of the axis stands the final construction-Pine relying pavilion, and the Office of bats in the shape of a bat, which is a good place to cool down in the hot summer time. Yin'an palace and Fine pleasure church are both covered with green glazed tiles, in the imperial architecture style which resembles the host's social status.

The east part has an opera house with a construction area of 6,895 square meters. In the south of the Chamber is a one-meter stage, and palace lanterns are hanging on the roof. At that time, in addition to performance, wedding ceremonies and funeral were also held inside.

West Road has the main Lake heart-pavilion, with the water surface as the center and in the middle stand three open houses, where is ideal to enjoy scenery and do fishing. There are more than 20 scenic spots departments, with numerous tree and flowers. Strange-shaped rocks and slender bamboos are grown among the most skillfully and beautifully made pictures.

The small piece of farmland where some vegetables were planted is also interesting, as it's a good comparison with the whole fancy surrounding of Prince Gong's Mansion. It reflects the host's mood of coming back to nature, and the heart of in search of pleasure in nature.